New Year New Brunch

Challah at your girl for stirring up a Mediterranean flared brunch; pun intended on the “challah” when you see what was on the menu.

Welcoming 2016 with open arms, we bid farewell to the previous year. Through many good eats comes a whole new year of inspiration, recipes and mouthwatering treats.

For a new year brunch I hosted, I swung up a Mediterranean menu consisting of Shakshouka, Dates with goat cheese & bacon, a Greek “meze” dipping plate and an eggplant spread, though I will be giving a rundown of two items on my menu.

Shakshouka, a dish of poached eggs in a stew of tomatoes, onions and spices.  It’s a recipe I’ve been looking at for quite some time. I followed the recipe off of this website (http://www.fromthegrapevine.com/israeli-kitchen/impress-your-guests-shakshouka-recipe) though I used a mixture of green heirloom tomatoes and canned tomatoes/paste. The recipe varies and it is up to your own preferences.

I sliced up some challah bread on the side but you can use pita (or both) 😉

IMG_0298

Drooling yet?

IMG_0299

How about now?!

 

Next up is a finger food that’s the perfect mix of chewy, smooth, salty, sweet and distinct; mejdool dates stuffed with goat cheese wrapped in bacon.

Particularly, I am not fond of pork bacon, so I improvised and used sliced proscuitto on some and turkey bacon on others. Both were perfectly as oily and meaty enough to satisfy my taste buds. You can use any goat cheese you want; here, I used a honey goat cheese.

It’s super easy and quick to make:

de-pit dates.

stuff with cheese.

wrap with meat.

place toothpick through and place on a greased baking pan at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, tilt the dates to the opposite side and   bake to your desired time ranging between 5-10 minutes.

IMG_0294

Happy 2016!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more this year 🙂

-Nora

One thought on “New Year New Brunch

Leave a Reply

